Anki Korean Picture Based Vocabulary

Finally finally finally, I’ve hit 118 decks in total and more than 120 words for my Anki Korean picture-based vocabulary decks. I’m really happy because right now, I can easily recall the meaning more than half of the words (i.e. ~90 – 100 words) that was listed in my Anki decks. I know this is indeed a small progress, but small is better than having no progress at all! I think, my new Korean picture-based vocabulary flashcard is really an amazing thing and with it, I am able to use the Anki SRS algorithm for remembering words in a much more better way.

If you happened to read out my previous post, which is written in Indonesian language :p, you would have to know that I decided to make a prototype of the Korean picture – based flashcard. The flashcard is good, but it didn’t work out really well for me. Therefore, I tried to make a new one that is more eye-catching and easy to remember. Gladly I found how to do it. And, here’s the comparison of my old picture – based Anki deck versus the new one.

 

the old flashcard

 

the brand new flashcard – 1
the brand new flashcard – 2

Can you catch the difference? Good! As you can see, when I made the old flashcard, my philosophy was to memorize a word without the aid of its English translation in the back of the card. So basically, I tried to memorize a word by purely associating it to its equivalent picture. For example, for the word 개/dog, I put the Korean words for the dog in front of the card and then the picture of the dog itself in the back of the picture. For the deck setting, I was using the “basic (and reversed card),” so then I could easily recall back to back what is the Korean word for dog and vice versa.

The concept is good except it fails to help me out to memorize the word faster and keep it longer in my long term memory. The reason was simple; though utilizing a picture is a good thing, the actual process is turn out to be the same as memorizing word using its English translation (i.e.basic words – translation flashcard). Also, the downside of this method was, it gets really hard when you try to memorize the abstract words such as “to be brave” or “to be dangerous” and etc.

On the contrary, the brand new flashcard is really a magical thing to exist I think. In just 3 days, I already memorized about 30 words and even after ~1month, I can still recall all the words with both its meaning and its equivalent picture as clearly as possible. For example, whenever I think about the word “secret,” the first thing come up in my mind is the Korean word of 비밀 and then secondly the picture above. So it does help me to remember words in more efficient manner and it also make the word stick to my long-term memory much longer than I’ve ever experienced before.

Anyway, since I’m a visual learner, having both Korean words and its associated picture is helping me a lot to speed up the process of remembering all the Korean words. Though the process of making it is quite tiring, the result is really worth it or maybe super – really – amazingly good so to speak. hahaha. If you want to make your own card, the process is actually quite simple. Here’s the step by step of it:

  1. Use Microsoft PowerPoint as a tool to make the card
  2. Open up  HowToStudyKorean website to collect all the Korean words. This website is really good because it has 6 units of the Korean lesson, and in each unit, there are more than 1000 words. So basically, when you completed with its 6 units and you memorized all the words you’ve put in your Anki decks, you are basically a master in Korean! Just put the same effort to learn the grammars, then you will be the real MVP.
  3. Look up in the Google the equivalent picture of the words. My suggestion is, only using the picture that has a size more than 1000×1000 pixels in resolution and a picture that has a landscape orientation. Put up the picture in the excel.
  4. Make your own flashcard. If you have any trouble with the design, just look the design of my cards and copy it. Basically, there are three components in each card. First is the picture as a background. The second is the square shape for the base of the words.  The third is the Korean words itself which are written using the ‘title’ column.

If you are too lazy to make your own card, you can be using mine. Just download it from this link https://goo.gl/Mj8kgj. Then input all the flashcard to your Anki decks. If you want to add the audio for each card, look up the audio in Forvo website.

That’s all.

Happy learning friends!

여러분 화이팅!!!
Leave a Reply

